SHARED GOVERNANCE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES OF E-BUSINESS OF AUGUST 26, 2020

In lieu of holding a Shared Governance Executive Committee (SGEC) meeting, the following matter was e-mailed to the SGEC membership on August 25, as a follow-up to the August 24 meeting.

Composition of Academic and Student Affairs Committee

Shared Governance Document notes that "One member of the Council of Academic Deans..." is a voting member of the committee, and "All other Council of Academic Deans members" are non-voting members. Due to some reorganization within the Academic Affairs division, the COAD expanded by four members, thereby adding those four individuals to the non-voting membership of the ASA Committee. Therefore, the committee is now comprised of 13 voting members and 13 non-voting members. To have that many non-voting members (and equal to the number who may vote) seems to be an anomaly when viewing the number of non-voting persons on the other shared governance committees. This is brought forward in case SGEC wants to take a look at that particular committee's membership description.

In the August 24 SGEC meeting, Dr. Richardson made a motion that was seconded by Dr. Hunt and unanimously approved to ask Renee' Vandiver to circulate via e-mail for final vote by e-business the revision of the non-voting membership of the Academic and Student Affairs Committee as follows: Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs or designee; VP for Student Affairs; Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs or Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean of Graduate and Online Education; Senior Vice Provost for International Affairs; three of the five college deans; and two Council of Academic Deans members from among the following: Director of Educational Technology Services, Director of Student Financial Aid, Interim Registrar, and Director of Admissions.

On August 25, the proposal was issued to SGEC but with the following suggested revision and an inquiry relative to the effective date:

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs or designee; VP for Student Affairs; Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs or Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean of Graduate and Online Education, as recommended to the SGEC by the Council of Academic Deans; Senior Vice Provost for International Affairs; three of the five college deans, as recommended to the SGEC by the Council of Academic Deans; and two Council of Academic Deans members from among the following: Director of Educational Technology Services, Director of Student Financial Aid, Interim Registrar, and Director of Admissions, as recommended to the SGEC by the Council of Academic Deans.

Via e-business, Dr. Richardson moved approval with the redline clarifications and further moved that the composition for 2020-21 remain as is and the above recommendation be enacted with the 2021-22 academic year. Dr. Pierce seconded the motion. Any members with objections

1 1	were expressed, this action is placed in the form of
	Dr. Leah Whitten, Chairperson